Knicks acquire Melo in blockbuster trade

Posted: February 22, 2011 in Knicks

It’s finally over with and in the end, the Knicks got their man. While I have a bit of a problem with how much the Knicks gave up when they likely were bidding against themselves, I’m certainly happy with the end result – perennial All-Star Carmelo Anthony is a Knick.
The Knicks acquired Anthony tonight along with Chauncey Billups, Shelden Williams, Renaldo Balkman and Anthony Carter for Raymond Felton, Danilo Gallinari, Wilson Chandler, Timofey Mozgov, a 2014 first-round pick and second-round picks in 2012 and 2013.
The Knicks also sent resident fat-ass Eddy Curry and his equally fat contract along with Anthony Randolph to the Minnesota Timberwolves for guard Corey Brewer. The inclusion of Brewer is a bonus I wasn’t expecting, as he’s a solid defender who will help the bench or be moved in another deal before the deadline.
The only uneasiness I get from the deal was the way the Knicks failed to use their leverage in the deal. Sure, the Nuggets and the media were all floating out the New Jersey Nets as a possible destination for Anthony, but it was pretty evident he was never going to sign the contract extension there. So, the Knicks kept adding pieces and picks. I honestly feel this deal could have been done for Felton, Chandler and one of Gallinari or Mosgov, not both. I believe Knicks owner James Dolan took control of these negotiations and with the help of his apparent love interest Isiah Thomas, took this one away from Knicks veteran GM Donnie Walsh. I hope I’m wrong here, but this deal reeks of Isiah.
Oh well, I’m very excited to see how Melo and Amare play together. Going to be a fun ride. Also glad to stop hearing about the trade rumors, they were hurting my productivity at work!

Comments
  1. Tina says:

    Well I will always love my Chauncey but forever in a Pistons jersey!!!!

Leave a Reply

