Mets sign Chris Young

Posted: January 18, 2011 in Mets

The Mets haven’t been extremely active this winter, making a few under-the-radar acquisitions as they really didn’t have a lot of money to play with. Overall, I’ve liked the few moves they’ve made, but I don’t see this team as anything close to a playoff team as currently constructed.
The Mets signed Chris Young, formerly of the San Diego Padres, to a one-year contract. The oft-injured Young will vie for a spot in the back end of the Mets’ rotation, and (just like Chris Capuano) if healthy, could be a nice pickup. That’s a big if, of course, as Young made just four appearances at the tail end of last year as he was coming off elbow surgery. A few years ago, Young was one of the most underrated pitchers in the game, posting strong ERA, WHIP and strikeout numbers with the Padres 3-4 years ago. He’s still in his early 30s and could be a solid fit for the vast expanses of Citi Field. If the season started today, the Mets’ rotation would likely look like this (assuming everyone is healthy which is a big assumption with this group): Mike Pelfrey, R.A. Dickey, Jon Niese, Chris Young, Chris Capuano. Not really going to scare anybody with that rotation, but I’ve seen worse. If Johan can come back sometime in June or July, the rotation gets better. However, I’d still sign one of the low-risk high reward type guys out there, guys that could be had on the cheap who could bounce back for a nice season. The guy I haven’t heard connected to the Mets is 28-year-old righty Jeremy Bonderman, formerly of the Tigers. He, too, has had injury issues but would be worth a flier, as I can’t see Capuano and Young making it through the season unscathed (in fact, a Bonderman signing could allow the Mets to use Capuano out of the pen).
As the season gets closer, I’ll go into more detail about the team. I love the new management squad, but they’re a bit constricted by poor contracts dished out in the Omar era. Sandy Alderson could have close to $60 million to play with in a year, although I don’t see this group spending lavishly on risky free agents. I’m more looking forward to the first draft overseen by these guys to see if these guys follow through on sinking more resources into the draft (something I believe they will do). Still, I’m probably least excited for an individual baseball season as I have been for awhile, hopefully as spring training gets closer, I’ll get a little more fired up. These last several Mets seasons have worn on me, and although I understand the Mets’ money position and the new approach, it’s hard to be excited when there haven’t been too many noteworthy trades or signings. But perhaps my lack of expectations are a good thing. After all, I’ve been pretty excited the last 5-6 years, only to be let down in the worst of ways. I go into this year not expecting a thing, so any positives the Mets bring will be gravy for me. Less than a month until pitchers and catchers report….

Leave a Reply

