The Winter of my Discontent

Posted: March 3, 2010 in Odds and Sods

For those of you wondering where I’ve been the last two months or so, I have been struggling through a bout of major depression, which I guess I’m susceptible to from time to time unfortunately. This isn’t just a period of feeling low, folks. If it was a minor thing, I’d be able to function on a daily basis and weather the storm. It happens very fast to me, where I’m feeling great one day and just a couple days later, I’ve plunged off an emotional cliff and I can’t stop the bleeding, so to speak. I was hospitalized twice in the last two months, but after the second hospitilization, I finally started to turn the corner thanks to a series of ECT (electroconvulsive therapy) treatments, the remedy that’s worked the best for me in past episodes. I’m happy to say, I’m finally heading in the right direction.
I’ve been off work now for almost two months because my concentration and drive was decimated. However, I’m eagerly anticipating my return to work and if all goes well, I’ll be back there on Tuesday.
The start of spring training is symbolic for me. Anyone who knows me realizes I’m a baseball nut, and with the start of the season upon us, anything is possible. “Hope springs eternal” as the saying goes, and that’s honestly how I’m beginning to feel once again after two months of absolute crap.
I’d like to take this time to thank my wonderful wife Tina. Without her, I may not be standing here today. Her support and love helped me through the darkest of times and I really can’t thank her enough. Also, thanks to all my family and friends who have wished me well. I truly appreciate it. Anyway, I’m feeling better now and my blog will no longer be neglected. Hope everyone has had a nice winter and is ready for a beautiful spring. I know I am. The Mets can’t be much worse than they were last year, can they?

Leave a Reply

