Remember when?

Posted: August 15, 2009 in Mets

Gary Carter celebrates with Darryl Strawberry and Keith Hernandez after a game-winning hit against the Phillies during the magical 1986 season.

Gary Carter celebrates with Darryl Strawberry and Keith Hernandez after a game-winning hit against the Phillies during the magical 1986 season.


I just had to post this image. It makes me smile whenever I look back on the 1986 season. That team had such a great cast of characters. They didn’t take any crap from anyone and they were truly on a mission. When I look back on it, it’s amazing that group didn’t win more championships. I was only 11, but more and more, I’m wondering if I’ll ever see another Mets championship. But, I’ll always have 1986.

Comments
  1. gravediggerhebner says:

    I don’t know what any intentional or unintentional message their may be in it, but I find it interesting that current Met hitting coach Howard Johnson (#20 at left) is not mentioned in your caption.

    But more importantly, yes those were the days.

  2. Andrew Sodergren says:

    You know, for some reason I was never a huge HoJo fan, even back in the day. Maybe it’s because he flamed out so early, or the 1-for-18 in the 1988 NLCS. Dude could sure hit a fastball though, especially Todd Worrell’s. Man, he owned that guy. Don’t think he’s much of a hitting coach, though…..

    • gravediggerhebner says:

      I agree 100% with your last line.

      During most of HoJo’s heyday with the Mets I lived in Massachusetts so I was not in contact with lots of Met fans, but a married couple with NJ roots that I met up there both LOVED HoJo, he was their favorite player, and I never quite understood that. I guess that’s what makes the world go ’round.

Leave a Reply

