Sometimes it hurts to be right

Posted: July 22, 2009 in Mets

Before the series with the worst team in baseball, I predicted the Mets would lose two of three to the Nationals. Sure enough, the Mets proved me right with another piss-poor showing Wednesday night.
Craig Stammen worked into the eighth inning and Josh Willingham blasted a two-run homer in the sixth, leading the Nats to a 3-1 win over the Mets.
Why the Mets even bring bats to the plate anymore, I’ll never know. They certainly never use them. Stammen was the latest pitcher to look like Bob Gibson/Tom Seaver/insert your favorite Hall-of-Famer here against the slumbering Mets offense. The Mets’ only run came when Angel Pagan tripled with two outs in the sixth and scored on Cristian Guzman’s throwing error. That was it, folks.
By the way, here’s a fun fact: Since June 1, the Mets are 16-29. That’s one game better than the mighty Nats, 15-30 over that span.
The Mets have Thursday off, so at least they can’t lose. They travel to Houston for the next series loss, beginning Friday.

Comments
  1. GravediggerHebner says:

    That ought to be a fun charter to Houston tonight. Nothing like the flight to New York from there in October ’86 that’s for sure.

    I apologize in advance to fans of the city of Houston, but for me in my subjective view, of all the cities of the United States and the world that I have had the privilege to visit, Houston is perhaps the worst place I’ve ever been. Maybe it’s the perfect place for this wretched ragtag bunch in Met uniforms to exorcise their demons, a humid hellhole.

  2. Stan Yann says:

    I loved the line about the Mets and their bats. So I quoted it on my blog.

Leave a Reply

