George Harrisongs

Posted: June 23, 2009 in Odds and Sods

Album cover for new Harrison hits disc

Album cover for new Harrison hits disc

Being a complete Beatles nut, I must own everything Beatles-related. Recently, I scooped up George Harrison’s brand new single disc compilation Let It Roll: Songs by George Harrison.
There were two previous Harrison greatest hits collections, 1976’s The Best of George Harrison and 1989’s Best of Dark Horse 1976-1989
The first collection featured one side of George’s best known Beatles hits and a second side of his top solo hits to that point. The second disc featured his big hits from the second half of his recording career.
The new collection condenses his entire career into a single-disc collection, which I have a bit of a problem with. The new disc is outstanding, remastered by Beatles producer George Martin’s sone Gilles (who also oversaw the Beatles’ Love project and the soon to be released Beatles remasters). However, George had so many great songs, many inevitably were left off the collection.

Here’s the track list:
1. Got My Mind Set on You (from 1987’s Cloud Nine)
2. Give Me Love (Give Me Peace On Earth, from 1973’s Living in the Material World)
3. Ballad of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let it Roll, from 1970’s All Things Must Pass)
4. My Sweet Lord (from 1970’s All Things Must Pass)
5. While My Guitar Gently Weeps (live from 1971’s The Concert for Bangladesh)
6. All Things Must Pass (from 1970’s All Things Must Pass)
7. Any Road (from 2002’s Brainwashed)
8. This Is Love (from 1987’s Cloud Nine)
9. All Those Years Ago (from 1981’s Somewhere in England)
10. Marwa Blues (instrumental, from 2002’s Brainwashed)
11. What is Life (from 1970’s All Things Must Pass)
12. Rising Sun (from 2002’s Brainwashed)
13. When We Was Fab (from 1987’s Cloud Nine)
14. Something (from 1971’s Concert for Bangladesh)
15. Blow Away (from 1979’s self-titled album)
16. Cheer Down (from 1989 Lethal Weapon 2 soundtrack)
17. Here Comes the Sun (live, from 1971’s Concert for Bangladesh)
18. I Don’t Want to Do it (from 1985’s Porky’s Revenge soundtrack)
19. Isn’t It a Pity (from 1970’s All Things Must Pass)

It’s a great tracklist, but if it was up to me, I probably would have substituted the 3 live Bangladesh tracks for three other solo hits. Four of Harrison’s solo albums (Dark Horse, Extra Texture, Thirty Three and a Third and Gone Troppo) aren’t represented. There are some great songs left out from those albums like Dark Horse, Ding Dong (Ding Dong), You, This Guitar (Can’t Keep From Crying), Crackerbox Palace, This Song, Wake Up My Love just to name the hit singles off those albums. All Things Must Pass was perhaps my favorite Beatles solo album, and it’s very well represented here with five songs, as is his second best album, 2002’s posthumously released Brainwashed (which has three). And while the inclusion of I Don’t Want to Do it, a rare Dylan cover only featured on the sountrack of the cinematic classic Porky’s Revenge, was nice, a few more rarities would have made this an even better purchase for the diehard fan like me.
So while this is a tremendous album (all the songs are top-notch Harrison) I can’t help but think we still haven’t gotten the definitive Harrison compilation album. Maybe next time.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s